Skip navigation


President of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) Eiki Nestor and his colleagues from Bulgaria and Austria will sign the declaration ensuring close cooperation between the three successive presidencies tomorrow in Bratislava.

“The country that holds the Presidency has to be an impartial searcher for compromises between all Member States,” Nestor said. “The issues faced by the European Union today are rather complicated, and it is not always possible to find a solution to them during the six months period of presidency. This is why the successive presidencies have to cooperate closely in order to complete what has been started.”

The declaration of Estonia, Bulgaria and Austria emphasises the need to deal with the issues of security and economy, and also with the exit negotiations of the United Kingdom and solving the migration crisis.

The purpose of the joint programme is to ensure effective political and departmental level coordination and communication between the parliaments of the three countries and the European Parliament in preparing the parliamentary programmes and organising of conferences during the presidency period.

The aim of the cooperation of the three successive presidencies or the trio partners is the joint programme that helps ensure that important issues are in the focus not only during one presidency, but throughout the whole year and a half.

Estonia will take over the Presidency of the Council of the European Union from Malta in July 2017, and hand it over to Bulgaria six months later. After that, the Presidency will pass on to Austria.

Signing of the declaration will take place at the Conference of Speakers of the EU Parliaments in Bratislava, where the future of Europe and the relations of national parliaments with the citizens are discussed.

Riigikogu Press Service
Eva Vahur
+372 631 6592, +372 53 300 619
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]