Skip navigation


Saturday, 20 August, is the 25th anniversary of the restoration of Estonia’s independence. To celebrate, a number of events will take place in the Riigikogu and on Toompea Hill. Foreign guests include the Speakers of the parliaments of Latvia, Finland, Denmark, Norway, and Iceland, as well as Deputy Speakers from Lithuania and Sweden.

At 7 a.m. everyone is welcome to attend a flag hoisting ceremony in the Governor’s Garden on Toompea Hill, at the foot of the Tall Hermann Tower. The flag will be hoisted by young people, who were born on 20 August, 25 years ago. The President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor and the President of the August 20th Club Ants Veetõusme will speak at the ceremony, and Archbishop Urmas Viilma of the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church will say words of blessing. Estonian Flag Association, Estonian Male Choir Society male choirs from Tallinn, Orchestra of the Tallinn District of the Defence League, Defence League flag hoisting units, Boy Scouts, Girl Guides, student organisations, associations, and unions with their flags will take part in the ceremony. The choirs and the orchestra will be conducted by Kalev Kütaru, Jüri Rent, and Ants Üleoja. On this day, the Tall Hermann Tower will be open to the public from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

At 10 a.m., there will be a flower-laying ceremony at the August 20 memorial stone, with a few words to remember the events 25 years ago.

At 11 a.m., Eesti Pank and Eesti Post will present the commemorative coin set and postal stationery in the White Hall of Toompea Castle. President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor, Governor of Eesti Pank Ardo Hansson, Chairman of the Board of Eesti Post Aavo Kärmas, and member of the August 20th Club Rein Veidemann will speak at the presentation. The coin set was designed by Vladimir Taiger, and the postal stationery by Indrek Ilves.

At 12 noon, the August 20th Club and the 13th Riigikogu will hold a joint formal sitting. The Club was founded by the members of the Supreme Council of the Republic of Estonia who voted in favour of restoring Estonia’s independence on 20 August 1991.

At 3 p.m., everyone is welcome to attend a free concert on Lossi Plats Square in Toompea, entitled No Country Is Alone. The concert will feature performances by Ivo Linna, Maarja-Liis Ilus, Tanel Padar, Jüri Pootsmann, The Ilves Sisters, Singer Vinger, E STuudio noortekoor, Üllar Saaremäe, Justs (Latvia), and Michael Monroe (Finland)

ETV and ETV+ channels will broadcast the hoisting of the flag at 6.55 a.m., the formal sitting at 12.20 p.m., and the concert at 4.25 and 5.25 p.m.

25 years ago, at 11.03 p.m. on 20 August 1991, the Supreme Council of the Republic of Estonia adopted the Resolution On the National Independence of Estonia, with 69 votes in favour.

Riigikogu Press Service
Marie Kukk
+372 631 6456; 58 213 309
Questions: press@riigikogu.ee