Skip navigation


Parliamentary groups help the MPs communicate with other national parliaments, carry out Estonia's foreign policy, and promote our country around the world. The first parliamentary group in Estonia was founded in 1921: the Estonian group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union. The first parliamentary groups after Estonia had regained its independence were founded in 1993. There are currently 56 parliamentary groups.

Founding of parliamentary groups

The foundation meeting of a parliamentary group is convened at the initiative of any Member of the Riigikogu. There are no limits to the size of a group. Parliamentary groups are formed at the beginning of a new term of the Riigikogu, and MPs may join or leave any time.

There are no limits to the size of a group.

An MP first notifies the Board of the Riigikogu if they wish to found a parliamentary group. The Board will then announce the time and the place of the founding meeting at a plenary sitting. At the founding meeting, the member list is registered and a chairman elected. The formation of a parliamentary group is also made known to the accredited diplomatic representation of the target country in Estonia, the Estonian Embassy in that country, and our Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The first six parliamentary groups after Estonia regained its independence were founded in 1993, during the 7th Riigikogu (1992–1995): Estonia – Finland, Estonia – Germany, Estonia – France, Estonia – Italy, Estonia – Russia, and Estonia – Denmark parliamentary groups.

Parliamentary groups