Skip navigation


Today, at the regular elections of the Board of the Riigikogu, Toomas Varek was elected the President of the Riigikogu, in favour of whom were 54 members of the Riigikogu. In the elections of the President of the Riigikogu Peeter Tulviste, who stood as a second candidate for the President of the Riigikogu, got 41 votes.

The new President of the Riigikogu said in his speech that “the people have sent us here to resolve the conflicts, that life has set before us and will continue to set. It’s true that we have not always been able to resolve them. But we also have achieved common victories which have brought shared joys and which have dispelled differences between political parties.” Mr. Varek stated that Estonians would undoubtedly like to see more hard-working and successful Riigikogu that the state and the people could be proud of.

At the elections of Vice-Presidents, following the elections of the President of the Riigikogu, Maret Maripuu became the First Vice-President, with 61 votes of members of the parliament. The Second Vice-President became Ene Ergma with 32 votes in favour.

The authority of the new Board lasts for one year.

The Riigikogu Press Service