Skip navigation


Today the Riigikogu adopted a statement to thank the founders, defenders, keepers and restorers of the Republic of Estonia in connection with the 100th anniversary of the Republic of Estonia. 77 members of the Riigikogu supported the expression of gratitude.

Liisa Oviir, who took the floor on behalf of the initiators of the statement, said that we all had reason to be grateful and happy on the occasion of celebrating the 100th anniversary of our country the day after the next day. “Let us keep this miracle in our minds, let us keep our miracle in our heart, and let us keep a deep gratitude for it in our hearts,” Oviir said.

Expression of Gratitude by the Riigikogu

The establishment of an independent and sovereign Estonian state had been the common creation and the highest aspiration of the sons and daughters of our nation for decades before it was attained.

On the eve of the 100th anniversary of the Republic of Estonia, the Riigikogu, on behalf of the Estonian people, expresses gratitude to all the people who have made their contribution to the establishment of the Republic of Estonia and the ensurance of its independence.

A special recognition from our people goes to those who founded and to those who restored the Republic of Estonia, taking advantage of a unique historical opportunity to establish an independent nation.

We recognise the Estonian people who lived and worked in their homeland in the years of foreign rule and ensured the survival of the nation.

We appreciate and thank our compatriots who preserved and developed the Estonian culture in exile and treasured the idea of the legal continuity of our state. It was their work that built the valuable bridge between generations for Estonia, and made it easier for us to return to the family of free European nations.

It is our common goal to enter the second century of our country as free people, and to work towards the advancement and sustainability of the Estonian state in a spirit of national unity.

The Riigikogu expresses its deep respect and recognition to all people who have remained faithful to the ideals of an independent Estonia, have borne sacrifices for it, and have lived for the good of Estonia.”

At the debate over the statement, Toomas Jürgenstein took the floor on behalf of the Social Democratic Party, Jürgen Ligi on behalf of the Reform Party, and Aadu Must on behalf of the Centre Party Faction. Marko Pomerants spoke on behalf of the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union Faction, Artur Talvik on behalf of the Free Party Faction and Mart Helme on behalf of the Estonian Conservative People’s Party. In their speeches, they stressed the importance of the adoption of the statement, and presented their positions.

The statement (588 AE) was signed by Liisa Oviir, Heljo Pikhof, Rein Randver, Kalvi Kõva, Helir-Valdor Seeder, Mart Nutt, Priit Sibul, Viktoria Ladõnskaja-Kubits, Tiina Kangro, Eiki Nestor, Jaanus Marrandi, Hardi Volmer, Inara Luigas, Toomas Jürgenstein, Barbi Pilvre, Tanel Talve, Aadu Must, Peeter Ernits, Jaanus Karilaid, Enn Eesmaa, Helmut Hallemaa, Igor Kravtšenko, Dmitri Dmitrijev, Toomas Paur, Viktor Vassiljev, Erki Savisaar, Kersti Sarapuu, Jürgen Ligi, Urve Tiidus, Meelis Mälberg, Aivar Sõerd, Arto Aas, Kalle Palling, Urmas Kruuse, Maris Lauri, Tarmo Kruusimäe, Andres Metsoja, Raivo Aeg, Remo Holsmer, Anne Sulling, Terje Trei, Kalle Laanet, Liina Kersna, Madis Milling, Helmen Kütt, Artur Talvik, Ain Lutsepp, Krista Aru, Andres Ammas, Andres Herkel, Külliki Kübarsepp, Monika Haukanõmm, Henn Põlluaas, Martin Helme, Mart Helme, Uno Kaskpeit, Arno Sild, Raivo Põldaru, Valdo Randpere, Margus Tsahkna, Oudekki Loone, Märt Sults, Tiit Terik, Marianne Mikko and Martin Repinski.

At the beginning of the sitting, the anthem of the Republic of Estonia was sung, performed by singers of Tallinn Chamber Choir, the mixed choir of Tallinn Rotary Club, and the mixed choir “K.O.O.R.”.

Verbatim record of the sitting (in Estonian).

Video recordings of the sittings of the Riigikogu can be viewed at https://www.youtube.com/riigikogu
 (NB! The recording will be uploaded with a delay.)

Riigikogu Press Service
Epp-Mare Kukemelk
6316356; 515 3903
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]