Skip navigation


At today’s extraordinary session of the Riigikogu, Alar Karis was not elected in the first round of the election of the President of the Republic.

63 members of the Riigikogu voted for him. The support of at least 68 members was required.

59 members of the Riigikogu from the Estonian Centre Party Faction and the Estonian Reform Party Faction had nominated Alar Karis.

79 members of the Riigikogu participated in the voting. 16 ballot papers were unmarked.

The extraordinary session of the Riigikogu will continue tomorrow, on 31 August, at 12 noon in the Riigikogu session hall. The nomination of candidates for President of the Republic will begin at the premises of the National Electoral Committee at Toompea 1, Tallinn, tomorrow, on 31 August, at 8 a.m., and will end at 10 a.m. The National Electoral Committee will register the candidates for President of the Republic before the beginning of the second round of voting.

Photos: (Author: Erik Peinar, Chancellery of the Riigikogu)

Verbatim record of the sitting (in Estonian):

Video recordings of the sittings of the Riigikogu can be viewed at https://www.youtube.com/riigikogu.

(Please note that the recording will be uploaded with a delay.)

Riigikogu Press Service
Gunnar Paal, +372 631 6351, +372 5190 2837
[email protected]
[email protected]