Skip navigation


At today’s sitting, the Riigikogu passed the Resolution which amended the membership of the Security Authorities Surveillance Select Committee.

The Draft Resolution of the Riigikogu “Amendment of the Resolution of the Riigikogu “Formation of the Security Authorities Surveillance Select Committee”” (605 OE), submitted by the Estonian Reform Party Faction, provides for appointment of Hanno Pevkur as a member of the select committee to replace Kalle Laanet.

The amendment is needed because Kalle Laanet has been elected to the Board of the Riigikogu.

78 members of the Riigikogu voted in favour of the Resolution.

The Security Authorities Surveillance Select Committee is a committee of the Riigikogu which exercises supervision over authorities of executive power in issues relating to the activities of security authorities and surveillance agencies.

A Bill was dropped from the proceedings of the Riigikogu:

The Bill on Amendments to the Local Government Financial Management Act (592 SE), initiated by the Free Party Faction, would have set restrictions for local government to use public money to buy journalistic programmes, advertisements, paid articles and interviews. It was intended to ensure more targeted use of budget funds, and to reduce the possibilities of abuse of administrative resources.

Representative of the initiators of the Bill Andres Herkel said that the Bill did not aim to restrict the decision-making right of local government, but primarily to contribute to more targeted use of public money.

The Chairman of the Finance Committee Mihhail Stalnuhhin gave an overview of the discussions that had been held at the committee sitting, and pointed out the position of a representative of the Government who had noted that although the Government understood the essence of the problem, they did not support that Bill in the proposed wording, and stated the reasons for not supporting it. Stalnuhhin said that one justification why the Government did not support it was that the proposed amendment duplicated existing provisions.

Jürgen Ligi from the Reform Party Faction, Mihhail Stalnuhhin from the Centre Party Faction and Andres Herkel from the Free Party Faction took the floor during the debate.

The lead committee moved to reject the Bill at the first reading. 32 members of the Riigikogu voted in favour of the motion and 8 were against. Thus, the Bill was dropped from the legislative proceedings.

Verbatim record of the sitting (in Estonian) http://stenogrammid.riigikogu.ee/en/201804171000.

Video recordings of the sittings of the Riigikogu can be viewed at https://www.youtube.com/riigikogu (NB! The recording will be uploaded with a delay.)

Riigikogu Press Service
Marie Kukk
631 6456; 58 213 309
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]