Skip navigation


The Riigikogu passed with 84 votes in favour the Resolution “Formation of the Committee of Investigation of the Riigikogu for Ascertaining the Facts relating to the Issuing of Temporary Residence Permits to Aliens” (149 OE), submitted by the Estonian Centre Party Faction and the Social Democratic Party Faction. The task of the Committee to be formed is to ascertain what the nature of the activities of the companies connected with members of the Riigikogu and Tallinn City Council in the issuing of temporary residence permits in 2011 was; whether ministries and their divisions had any connection with it, and whether members of the Riigikogu or ministers influenced that process in any way. According to the proposals of factions, the Select Committee includes Andres Anvelt, Kalle Laanet, Väino Linde and Marko Pomerants; Jevgeni Ossinovski, Aivar Riisalu, Kalle Jents and Priit Sibul are their alternate members, correspondingly. One member of the Riigikogu voted against the Resolution and three abstained.

The Resolution on appointment of a member of the Supervisory Board of the State Forest Management Centre (168 OE) was passed with 51 votes in favour. According to the Resolution, Member of the Riigikogu Tõnis Lukas was appointed a member of the Supervisory Board of the State Forest Management Centre instead of the former Member of the Riigikogu Indrek Raudne due to termination of the authority of the latter. 19 members of the Riigikogu voted against the Resolution.

Due to the end of the working hours of the sitting of the plenary assembly, the first reading of the Bill on Amendments to the Unemployment Insurance Act (171 SE), initiated by the Social Affairs Committee, was adjourned. The deliberation will be resumed tomorrow, at the sitting beginning at 2 p.m.

The Riigikogu Press Service