Skip navigation


Today, the members of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) expressed no confidence in Prime Minister of Estonia Taavi Rõivas with 63 votes in favour and 28 votes against. There were no abstentions.

41 members of the Riigikogu opposition initiated a vote of no confidence in the Prime Minister on Monday.

Upon resignation of the Prime Minister, the Government led by him also resigns. The Government will continue its activities until a new Government of the Republic assumes office. After receiving the letter of resignation of the Government, the President has to appoint a candidate for Prime Minister within 14 days, and give him or her the task to form a new Government.

Riigikogu Press Service
Marie Kukk
+372 631 6456; +372 58 213 309
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]