Skip navigation


At the election of the Board of the Riigikogu today, Jüri Ratas was elected the President. 63 members of the Riigikogu voted in his favour. Ratas’s opposing candidate Henn Põlluaas gained the support of 20 members.

A total of 98 members of the Riigikogu participated in the election of the President. 15 ballot papers were invalid.

Jüri Ratas had been nominated by Chairman of the Estonian Centre Party Faction Mailis Reps.

Jüri Ratas thanked the members of the Riigikogu for their support.

In the election of Vice-Presidents, Chairman of the Estonian Reform Party Faction Mart Võrklaev nominated Hanno Pevkur as a candidate for a Vice-President of the Riigikogu, and member of the Estonian Conservative People’s Party Faction Siim Pohlak nominated Martin Helme as a candidate for a Vice-President.

93 members of the Riigikogu took part in the secret ballot for the election of the Vice-Presidents. 59 members of the Riigikogu voted in favour of Hanno Pevkur, and 28 members of the Riigikogu voted in favour of Martin Helme. Six ballot papers were invalid. According to the number of votes received, Hanno Pevkur was elected the First Vice-President of the Riigikogu and Martin Helme was elected the Second Vice-President.

Verbatim record of the sitting (in Estonian):

Photos: (Author: Erik Peinar)

The video recording of the sitting will be available on the Riigikogu YouTube channel.
(Please note that the recording will be uploaded with a delay.)

Riigikogu Press Service

Gunnar Paal, +372 631 6351, +372 5190 2837

[email protected]