Skip navigation


The Minister of Social Affairs Hanno Pevkur replied to the interpellation concerning voluntary health insurance (No 116), submitted by Members of the Riigikogu Viktor Vassiljev, Aadu Must, Eldar Efendijev, Enn Eesmaa, Inara Luigas, Peeter Võsa, Deniss Boroditš, Valeri Korb, Lembit Kaljuvee, Marika Tuus-Laul, Mailis Reps, Ester Tuiksoo and Yana Toom on 15 February. 

In Pevkur’s words, the health insurance fund enables voluntary joining of compulsory insurance by way of entering into a corresponding contract for certain groups of persons in the situation where the voluntary health insurance product is not sufficiently supplied in the Estonian insurance market at present. Such persons are considered as average insured persons who work. Their monthly insurance premium amounts to 13% of the average salary in Estonia and it does not depend on the amount of their insurance risk. The persons who have joined health insurance on the basis of this contract are considered equal to the persons who have been insured on the basis of the Health Insurance Act, but they do not have the right to receive the benefit for temporary incapacity for work, etc. “The legislator considered it reasonable to create an additional opportunity so that people would have insurance cover and it would be calculated on the basis of the average salary,” Pevkur noted. He pointed out the figures which show that a total of 164 voluntary contracts were concluded in 2010, and 212 in 2011. In the opinion of the health insurance fund, so far, persons who extend their residence permit, or elderly people who come to live with their children upon returning from abroad constitute the majority of those who have entered into a voluntary contract, Pevkur explained. 

The Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications Juhan Parts replied to the interpellation concerning the court action between the Estonian state and the Estonian Railways Ltd. (No 113), submitted by Members of the Riigikogu Kadri Simson, Lauri Laasi, Ester Tuiksoo, Priit Toobal, Aivar Riisalu, Lembit Kaljuvee and Jüri Ratas on 13 February. 

During the open microphone, Ester Tuiksoo and Mihhail Stalnuhhin took the floor. 

The Riigikogu Press Service