Skip navigation


Eiki Nestor was elected the President of the Riigikogu by secret ballot. 54 MPs voted in his favour. 45 MPs voted in favour of Ene Ergma who had been nominated as the second candidate for the President of the Riigikogu. 100 MPs took part in the election. One ballot paper was declared invalid. 

Eiki Nestor had been nominated by the Chairman of the Social Democratic Party Faction Sven Mikser, while Ene Ergma had been nominated by the Chairman of the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union Faction Kaia Iva

In the election of Vice-Presidents, the Chairman of the Estonian Reform Party Faction Jaanus Tamkivi nominated Laine Randjärv. The Chairman of the Estonian Centre Party Faction Kadri Simson nominated Jüri Ratas.  

100 MPs took part in the secret ballot of the election of Vice-Presidents. 51 MPs voted in favour of Laine Randjärv and 48 MPs in favour of Jüri Ratas. 1 ballot paper was invalid. According to the number of votes received, Laine Randjärv was elected the First Vice-President of the Riigikogu and Jüri Ratas the Second Vice-President. 

“In the work of the Riigikogu, it is important to make decisions by consensus. A member of the Board of the Riigikogu represents the Riigikogu first and foremost as an institution, and stands for all the interests and needs related to the working process of all its members,” said Laine Randjärv, the First Vice-President of the Riigikogu. 

“I’m thankful to all my colleagues for their trust and support. I congratulate our new President Eiki Nestor, as well as Laine Randjärv who remains a Vice-President, and I hope that the Board will continue to cooperate in a constructive manner,” said the Vice-Chairman Jüri Ratas. “I wish to offer my sincere acknowledgement to Ene Ergma, who worked a whole 10 years as the President of the Riigikogu and always carried out her duties with thoroughness and dedication. I am sure that she will continue to achieve much in the future,” Ratas said. 

Photos of the election of the Board: https://fotoalbum.riigikogu.ee/v/Valimised/Juhatuse+valimised/2014/

The Riigikogu Press Service