Skip navigation


At the festive ceremony at the beginning of the sitting of the Riigikogu, the President of the Republic Toomas Hendrik Ilves took the oath of office and made a speech before the Riigikogu.
The Riigikogu then approved the agenda for the working week and heard the replies to two interpellations.
Then the Minister of Social Affairs Hanno Pevkur replied to the interpellation concerning dental care (No 35), submitted by Members of the Riigikogu Marika Tuus-Laul, Deniss Boroditš, Aadu Must, Valeri Korb, Viktor Vassiljev, Kadri Simson and Priit Toobal on 14 June. Marika Tuus-Laul asked the Minister when the dental care benefit would be restored.
Pevkur said that, in Estonia, the health insurance fund pays for dental care of persons of up to 19 years of age who are covered by health insurance, according to the Health Insurance Act. Likewise, the dental care benefit is paid for persons who receive pension on the basis of the Pension Insurance Act, to the extent of 300 kroons in the former currency, expressed in euro. According to the Minister’s explanations, persons who are in the most difficult situation, that is, children and the elderly receive the benefit, and adults receive emergency medical care. Recipients of the benefit also include pregnant women, mothers of a child under 1 year of age, and those who have an increased need for dental care as a result of a health care service. Pevkur added that emergency medical care is ensured to persons not covered by health insurance, as necessary, and it is not impossible that persons who apply for the subsistence benefit or other persons who need assistance can turn to the local government for help in this issue. Pevkur admitted that at present there are no funds for restoring the dental care benefit for all population groups. A resolution of the Supervisory Board of the Health Insurance Fund and the Government is also needed for that.
The Minister of Social Affairs also replied to the interpellation concerning the situation of health care services providers in ascertaining a state of intoxication (No 30), submitted by Members of the Riigikogu Deniss Boroditš, Lauri Laasi, Marika Tuus-Laul, Valeri Korb, Vladimir Velman, Peeter Võsa, Inara Luigas, Enn Eesmaa, Eldar Efendijev, Kalle Laanet, Tarmo Tamm, Rainer Vakra, Priit Toobal and Mailis Reps on 9 June.
During the open microphone, Viktor Vassiljev took the floor.
The Riigikogu Press Service