Skip navigation


On the 25th anniversary of the restoration of the independence of the Republic of Estonia, young people who were born on 20 August 1991 hoisted the national flag at the Tall Hermann Tower.

President of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) Eiki Nestor recalled at the flag hoisting ceremony at the foot of the Tall Hermann Tower that 25 years ago everybody had woken up with their hearts filled with worry, but also with expectations, eager to learn whether we would be able to struggle free and again become a free nation in an independent Estonia.

“Many of us had never felt so much hope and worry all at once,” Nestor said. “By the end of that day, we already felt like winners because the Supreme Council had passed the Resolution on the National Independence of Estonia at 11.02 p.m.”

Archbishop of the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church Urmas Viilma said the words of blessing. “A small nation is as great as its faith in its future. The flag of Estonia flows here today not only as the symbol of restored independence, but also as the sign of freedom, survival and heavenly blessing both to present and future generations,” the Archbishop said.

Chairman of the August 20th Club Ants Veetõusme emphasised in his speech that for the Estonians, their flag has always been a sacred object, it has been treated with respect and love. “Our Blue-Black-White is something special, the flag and all its colours have a meaning that has been carried on by many generations,” Veetõusme said.

Estonian Flag Association, Estonian Male Choir Society male choirs from Tallinn, Orchestra of the Tallinn District of the Defence League, Defence League flag hoisting units, Boy Scouts, Girl Guides, student organisations, associations, and unions with their flags also participated in the flag hoisting ceremony in the Governor’s Garden. The choirs and the orchestra were conducted by Kalev Kütaru, Jüri Rent and Ants Üleoja.

At 3 p.m., everyone is welcome to attend the concert No Country Is Alone on Lossi Plats Square at Toompea. The concert features performances by Ivo Linna, Maarja-Liis Ilus, Tanel Padar, Jüri Pootsmann, The Ilves Sisters, Singer Vinger, E STuudio youth choir, Üllar Saaremäe, Justs (Latvia), and Michael Monroe (Finland)

On 20 August 1991 at 11.03 p.m., the Supreme Council of the Republic of Estonia, with 69 votes in favour, adopted the Resolution on the National Independence of Estonia.


Riigikogu Press Service
Epp-Mare Kukemelk
Phone: +372 631 6356, +372 51 53 903
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]