Skip navigation


The Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) adopted a statement in support of the territorial integrity of Ukraine, initiated by 28 members of the Riigikogu. The Statement of the Riigikogu calls on all nations to unconditionally support the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.

67 members of the Riigikogu voted in favour of adopting the Statement.

Text of the statement:

“In 2014, Ukraine fell victim to an unprovoked aggression, the consequences of which have still not been eliminated, and the security threats in Europe are rapidly escalating.

The Riigikogu resolutely condemns the aggression of the Russian Federation targeted against Ukraine. The Riigikogu reiterates its position of 2014 and 2018, condemning the aggressive activities of the Russian Federation against Ukraine and the annexation of Crimea.

The Riigikogu calls on all nations to unconditionally support the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.

The Riigikogu underlines that no country outside the European Union or the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) has the right to veto regarding the enlargement of these alliances. Ukraine’s membership in international organisations is a decision of Ukraine and these organisations, and third parties have no say in this issue.

The Riigikogu is of the opinion that no decision concerning Ukraine’s sovereignty can be made behind Ukraine’s back. The policy of spheres of influence is over in Europe, and the Riigikogu condemns all attempts to restore spheres of influence in Europe.

The Riigikogu firmly believes that one of the conditions for ensuring lasting peace in Europe is ending the aggression of Russian Federation against Ukraine.”

The Statement of the Riigikogu “In Support of the Territorial Integrity of Ukraine” (501 AE) was submitted by members of the Riigikogu Helir-Valdor Seeder, Heiki Hepner, Priit Sibul, Mihhail Lotman, Urmas Reinsalu, Paul Puustusmaa, Ruuben Kaalep, Leo Kunnas, Urmas Reitelmann, Henn Põlluaas, Rene Kokk, Siim Pohlak, Anti Poolamets, Jaak Valge, Martin Helme, Alar Laneman, Merry Aart, Sven Sester, Tarmo Kruusimäe, Raivo Tamm, Riina Sikkut, Heljo Pikhof, Andres Metsoja, Üllar Saaremäe, Riho Breivel, Indrek Saar, Uno Kaskpeit and Jaak Juske.

Riigikogu Press Service
Merilin Kruuse
Phone: +372 631 6592, +372 510 6179
E-mail: [email protected]
Questions: [email protected]