Skip navigation


Laine Randjärv, the Vice-President of the Riigikogu, became the first Estonian who has been awarded the Medal of Honour of the National Assembly of Armenia for promoting the cooperation between the parliaments of Estonia and Armenia.

The Vice-President of the Parliament of Armenia Eduard Sharmazanov, who presented the medal to Randjärv, said that the Medal of Honour is the highest medal of the Parliament of Armenia. Randjärv was awarded the medal for her contribution to the development and strengthening of Armenian-Estonian inter-parliamentary relations.

“I thank the state of Armenia for this recognition,” Randjärv said. “Estonia and Armenia have strong historical relations.”

Randjärv said that she considers it very important that all nations living in Estonia would have the possibility to preserve their language and culture. Randjärv has been the Vice-President of the Riigikogu since April 2011.

Photos of presenting the medal: https://fotoalbum.riigikogu.ee/v/2015/Laine+Randjarv/Armeenia+aumedal/