Skip navigation


Today, the Standing Committee of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) meets at the Riigikogu, the Parliament of Estonia, to hold the opening session of Estonia’s Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe.

President of the PACE Pedro Agramunt and President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor will deliver the opening speeches at the meeting. Then Minister of Foreign Affairs Marina Kaljurand will give an overview of the priorities of Estonia’s chairmanship. The priorities of the chairmanship of Estonia, which will last from May to November this year, are the rights of children, gender equality and human rights and the rule of law on the Internet.

President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor said that one of the first goals of the Republic of Estonia after regaining independence was joining the Council of Europe. “We have the honour of being a member of that organisation since 1993. For us, it was both a recognition and a challenge in building a democratic state,” Nestor said.

The PACE also plans to approve the reports on the early parliamentary elections in Kazakhstan and Serbia, and to hold discussions on preventing human rights violations and promoting city-to-city cooperation.

During the exchanges of views with President of the Group of States against Corruption (GRECO) Marin Mrčela and Chairman of the Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures and the Financing of Terrorism (MONEYVAL) Daniel Thelesklaf, topical problems relating to corruption, money laundering and terrorism are discussed.

The Standing Committee is made up of the President and Vice-Presidents of the PACE, the chairpersons of political groups, the chairpersons of national delegations and the committee chairpersons, totalling some 60 parliamentarians. The Standing Committee acts on the Assembly’s behalf between plenary sessions.

The press is welcome to observe the meeting of the PACE Standing Committee in the Session Hall of the Riigikogu on Friday, 27 May from 9.30 a.m. to around 12.30 p.m.

More information on the web page of the Riigikogu

Riigikogu Press Service
Kati Varblane
Phone: +372 631 6353, +372 51 69 152
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]