Skip navigation


Members of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) formed Estonia-Canada Parliamentary Group and Estonia-Cuba Parliamentary Group. Eerik-Niiles Kross was elected the chairman of both groups.

Kross thinks Estonia has a special relationship with Canada. “There is a large and viable Estonian community in Canada, Canada is our ally in NATO and has been an active supporter of the reforms in Ukraine in recent years. Recent elections in Canada brought the country a new government and a new parliamentary majority. It is in the interests of Estonia to maintain close relations with them at different levels,” Kross said.

Eerik-Niiles Kross said that Estonia-Cuba Parliamentary Group was formed because the importance of Cuba is increasing. “Cuba’s opening to the world and probable future reforms in politics and economy will most likely be one of the most important changes in the Latin-American space in the coming years. It is in the interests of Estonia to contribute to these processes, and parliamentary diplomacy can play a pioneering role here,” Kross said.

The members of Estonia-Canada Parliamentary Group are: Yoko Alender, Maire Aunaste, Jüri Jaanson, Toomas Kivimägi, Kristjan Kõljalg, Kalvi Kõva, Maris Lauri, Lauri Luik, Sven Mikser, Kalle Palling, Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Valdo Randpere and Mihkel Raud.

The members of Estonia-Cuba Parliamentary Group are: Yoko Alender, Andres Anvelt, Maire Aunaste, Mihhail Korb, Kristjan Kõljalg, Lauri Luik, Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Valdo Randpere and Mihkel Raud.

Through the parliamentary groups, the members of the Riigikogu can communicate with other national parliaments, carry out Estonia’s foreign policy, and promote our country around the world.

The 13th Riigikogu has formed altogether 46 parliamentary groups and 56 associations.

List of parliamentary groups

List of associations

Riigikogu Press Service
Kati Varblane
Phone: +372 631 6353, +372 51 69 152
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]