Skip navigation


Yesterday evening the Baltic Assembly Awards ceremony was held in Vilnius, Lithuania, where the medals of the Baltic Assembly (BA) were presented. From Estonia, the BA medals were awarded to Vice-President of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) Enn Eesmaa, Deputy Head of the Estonian Delegation to the BA Johannes Kert and members of the Delegation Krista Aru and Erki Savisaar.

BA awarded the medal to Eesmaa for strengthening the cooperation between Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. Kert received the medal for supporting the territorial integrity of Ukraine and its accession to the European Union. Aru was given the medal for strengthening the cultural relations between the Baltic States. Savisaar was awarded the medal for his outstanding work in promoting digital economy and cyber security.

The Baltic Assembly medals are awarded by a resolution of the Presidium of the Baltic Assembly to persons who have contributed to upholding the unity and cooperation of the Baltic States. BA medals have been awarded since 2002.

Besides the medals, the BA Prizes in Literature, the Arts, Science and Innovation were also presented at the ceremony. The BA Prize in Literature was awarded to Latvian writer Gundega Repše and the Prize in the Arts to Lithuanian ballet dancer Jurgita Dronina. The Prize in Science went to the Estonian physicist and President of the Estonian Young Academy of Sciences Els Heinsalu. The Innovation Prize was given to research and production company Light Conversion Ltd.

The Baltic Assembly is an international organisation that promotes cooperation between the Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian parliaments. It was founded on 8 November 1991 in Tallinn.

Riigikogu Press Service
Marie Kukk
+372 631 6456; +372 58 213 309
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]