Skip navigation


Member of the Estonian delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) Eerik-Niiles Kross (ALDE) was appointed co-rapporteur of the PACE Monitoring Committee Ukraine in Strasbourg today. Kross will replace Jordi Xuclà from Spain. Kross’s co-rapporteur is Axel Fisher (EPP) from Germany.

“The success of Ukrainian reforms is one of the key issues of the future of Europe, and monitoring can make a positive contribution to it,” Eerik-Niiles Kross emphasised. “Once a year, the rapporteurs present a report on the country to the plenary assembly, which is adopted with a resolution that is binding to the member state. This process is very important from the point of view of PACE and Estonia,” Kross said.

Rapporteur on Ukraine is PACE’s representative and observer in the monitoring process on countries. During the monitoring, the functioning of democracy, the state of corruption and human rights, and other issues of concern to the PACE in the member state are observed and reported to the PACE. In 2010–2015, former member of the Estonian delegation to the PACE Mailis Reps was a rapporteur on Ukraine.

On 9–13 October, the autumn session of PACE takes place in Strasbourg, France. On Monday, member of the Estonian delegation Andres Herkel was appointed to prepare a report under urgent procedure on the Ukrainian law on education. Herkel is also the rapporteur on co-ordination for efficient Internet governance. Head of the Estonian delegation to PACE and Vice-President of the Assembly Marianne Mikko is the PACE rapporteur for monitoring Turkey.

Riigikogu Press Service
Merilin Kruuse
Phone: +372 631 6353, +372 510 6179
E-mail [email protected]
Questions: [email protected]