Skip navigation


Members of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) formed the Cyber Security Support Group. Arto Aas was elected the Chairman of the group and Kalle Palling Deputy Chairman.

The support group was founded with the purpose of promoting the development of cyber security in Estonia, strengthening cooperation between private and public sector, and raise the society’s awareness of cyber security.

Chairman of the support group Arto Aas emphasised that the security of cyber space could be ensured only in close cooperation between the state, the entrepreneurs and the citizens. “This year, ten years pass from the extensive cyber attacks against Estonia that have been called the fist cyber war in history. The capability of the government and the IT community of Estonia in combating against cyber threats have brought us international recognition and acknowledgement. Estonia is considered one of the leading countries in the world in cyber security,” Aas said.

“Development of technology, enlargement of e-services, e-trade, the Internet of things and several other trends increase the importance of secure cyber space. Cyber security is not just an issue of national security, but an integral part of the daily work and communication of people,” Aas remarked, and added that the security of cyber environment had to be ensured in providing vital services, from medical care to energy, and also in financial services and social media.

Last year, the Estonian Information System Authority dealt with 9135 cases in the computer and data communication networks; 348 of them were high priority incidents that influenced the functioning of a national vital service or website.

Other members of the support group are Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Jüri Jaanson, Lauri Luik, Jürgen Ligi, Ants Laaneots, Laine Randjärv, Kalle Laanet, Madis Milling, Yoko Alender, Aivar Sõerd, Urve Tiidus, Taavi Rõivas, Remo Holsmer, Eerik-Niiles Kross, Kristen Michal, Erki Savisaar, Raivo Aeg and Jaanus Karilaid.

Through support groups and associations, the members and factions of the Riigikogu can draw attention to specific issues, and support or protect the interests of narrower spheres of life.

At the moment, the 13th Riigikogu has 57 parliamentary groups and 70 associations.

Riigikogu Press Service
Kati Varblane
Phone: +372 631 6353, +372 51 69 152
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]