Skip navigation


The Chancellery of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) announces the eleventh competition for August Rei Scholarship in Parliamentary Studies.

The purpose of the Scholarship is to support and promote parliamentary research. It is awarded to authors of Master’s or Doctoral theses on parliament, parliamentarism or the parliamentary assemblies of Estonia, written in Estonian or foreign languages. All students, master’s students and doctoral students who are interested in conducting research on these topics are welcome to submit the concepts of their works.

Students wishing to apply for the Scholarship have to submit the application, CV, title of the master’s thesis or doctoral thesis, concept paper and timeline, the supervisor’s recommendation and other documents to the Chancellery of the Riigikogu by 20 September 2019.

Up to two 1500-euro scholarships are awarded in two parts. The first part is paid to the master’s or doctoral student, or a candidate for master’s or doctoral studies after being admitted as a student, who submitted the best concept for a thesis. The second part is paid to the same person after successful defending of the thesis or dissertation.

The applications for scholarship are evaluated by the scholarship committee of the Chancellery of the Riigikogu. The winners of the competition will be announced by 30 October 2019 at the latest.

August Rei Scholarship in Parliamentary Studies is awarded annually, and it was founded by the Chancellery of the Riigikogu in 2008. By today, the scholarship has been granted to twelve master’s and doctoral students. Eleven of them have successfully defended their theses.

We hope that the competition for scholarship in parliamentary studies will inspire young researchers also in the future, and contribute to the research and valuing of the activities and history of our 100 years old parliament.

August Rei was a member and the Chairman of the Constituent Assembly from its convening on 23 April 1919 until the end of its work on 20 December 1920. In 1920–1937, Rei was a member of the 1st–5th Riigikogu; from 9 June 1925 to 22 June 1926, he was the Speaker of the 2nd Riigikogu.

More information: https://www.riigikogu.ee/infoallikad/uuringud/stipendiumid and stipendium@riigikogu.ee

Riigikogu Press Service
Gunnar Paal,
+372 631 6351, +372 5190 2837
Questions: press@riigikogu.ee