Skip navigation


Members of the foreign affairs committees and national security committees of the national parliaments of the European Union and members of the European Parliament meet in Tallinn to discuss the security situation of the European Union, transatlantic relations, cyber threats and strategic communication.

On Friday, the Conference will be opened by the President of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) Eiki Nestor. The discussion is moderated by Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu Marko Mihkelson and Chairman of the National Defence Committee of the Riigikogu Hannes Hanso.

The first day of the Conference is dedicated to foreign policy. President of Estonia Kersti Kaljulaid and Vice-President of the European Investment Bank Alexander Stubb will be the keynote speakers of the first session. Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the European Parliament David McAllister, Economic Advisor to the President of the European Council Wouter Coussens and US policy expert Robert Nurick will speak at the session dedicated to transatlantic relations.

EU High Representative Federica Mogherini will give an overview of the foreign and security policy priorities of the Union. The foreign policy day will be concluded by Estonian Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia Sven Mikser, who will speak about the situation outside the EU borders.

The second day of the Conference will focus on security issues. The opening speech of the day will be delivered by Minister of Defence of Estonia Jüri Luik, who will be discussing ways to strengthen European defence together with Co-Chair of the European Council on Foreign Relations Carl Bildt and NATO Assistant Secretary General for Public Diplomacy Tacan Ildem.

Saturday’s second session will be dedicated to the practical aspects of the hybrid world, including cyber threats and strategic communication. The speakers will include Head of East StratCom Task Force of the European External Action Service Giles Postman and Director General of the Information System Authority of Estonia Taimar Peterkop.

Besides Hannes Hanso and Marko Mihkelson, the Estonian delegation also includes Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Barbi Pilvre, Marianne Mikko and Margus Tsahkna.

The Conference is a public event and is streamed online on the parleu2017.ee web page, where you can also find its programme. The photo and/or video materials will be made available as soon as possible at parleu2017.ee web page, at the Riigikogu Flickr account, and in YouTube. We will share the ideas voiced at the conference in the social media channels of the Riigikogu in Facebook and Twitter.

Epp-Mare Kukemelk
Communications Coordinator
Parliamentary Dimension
Presidency of the Council of the EU

Chancellery of the Riigikogu
+372 631 6356 +372 515 3903
Lossi plats 1a, 15165 Tallinn, Estonia