Skip navigation


The Foreign Affairs Committee is on a visit to Paris today and tomorrow. In the meetings, discussions on the future of Europe focus on both the transatlantic security architecture and the global challenges.

“Estonia has active and very good relations with France,” Chairman of the committee Enn Eesmaa said. “We are like-minded with the French in many issues. For example, we have similar interests and a deepening cooperation in cyber issues. We are also ready to closely cooperate with France in the UN Security Council over 2020-2021.”

Eesmaa said that Estonia was grateful to France for having made a significant contribution to the security of the Baltic states through its presence on NATO’s eastern flank and participation in the Baltic Air Policing mission.

The Deputy Chairman of the Committee Marko Mihkelson said that, in the meetings during the committee’s visit to Paris, they wished to become clear on France’s goals in the shaping of the Euro-Atlantic security architecture. Mihkelson also wishes to explain to his French colleagues the need for the European Union and NATO to expand, and Estonia’s positions on supporting the Eastern partnership countries. He also wishes to discuss cooperation in the UN Security Council.

Today, the delegation of the Foreign Affairs Committee meets the President of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the National Assembly of France Marielle de Sarnez and members of the French-Baltic friendship group of the Senate. In the evening, the Estonian Embassy will host a reception to mark the fifth anniversary of e-residency, which the members of the Foreign Affairs Committee will attend.

Tomorrow, the day will start with a meeting at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of France. Thereafter the committee will meet Emmanuel Bonne, Foreign Policy Adviser to President Macron. A meeting with Christian Cambon, President of the Foreign Affairs, Defence and Armed Forces Committee of the Senate is scheduled for the afternoon. The delegation is also planning to hold meetings with representatives of the Estonian community and analysts of the European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR) think tank.

The delegation includes Chairman of the committee Enn Eesmaa, Deputy Chairman Marko Mihkelson and members Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Ruuben Kaalep and Raivo Tamm.

Riigikogu Press Service
Epp-Mare Kukemelk
+372 631 6356, +372 515 3903
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]