Skip navigation


In their joint declaration on the 103rd anniversary of the Declaration of Independence of the Belarusian People’s Republic, the Chairmen of the Foreign Affairs Committees of the Parliaments of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania confirm full support to the people of Belarus and condemn the continuing repressions and violence of the Belarusian security forces.

Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) Marko Mihkelson said that the international community had not forgotten the people of Belarus and the events there were observed closely. “The developments in Belarus are very close to the hearts of the Baltic nations. We have also fought for the restoration of our independence and democracy, therefore we fully understand the determination and motivation of the Belarusians in standing for their freedom and fundamental rights,” he pointed out.

Mihkelson said that he and his colleagues emphasised in their joint declaration that the Baltic states along with the international community were committed to continue supporting Belarusian democracy and sovereignty. “Together with our European and Euro-Atlantic partners, we are eager to strengthen Belarus’s peaceful transition to democracy without weakening its independence,” he noted.

The signatories state in solidarity with the with the people of Belarus struggling for their freedom and independence of their homeland that Alexander Lukashenko doesn’t have national or international legitimacy and right to represent the People of Belarus. “We support democratic opposition leaders of Belarus in their calls for free and fair elections through internationally mediated negotiations and with international observation,” they declare.

The Chairmen of the Foreign Affairs Committees underline in the Declaration that they condemn the continuing brutal and violent repression of the Belarusian security forces against peaceful demonstrators, independent journalists, human rights defenders, lawyers, labour unions and political activists. They demand the immediate end of violence; unconditional release of all political prisoners and detainees who are currently deprived of their fundamental rights, as well as a safe return for Belarusian citizens who were forced flee the country into exile. They also affirm the international protection and support to independent media, human rights defenders and civil society organizations that are vital to strengthening democracy in Belarus.

The Declaration also stresses that sanctions are a step in the right direction, and that there is a need for further sanctions targeting those who participated in falsifying elections or systemic human rights abuses thus serving as a tool of the abusive regime.

Full text of the Declaration by Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu Marko Mihkelson, Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Saeima of Latvia Rihards Kols, and Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Seimas of Lithuania Žygimantas Pavilionis.

Riigikogu Press Service
Liisa Johanna Lukk
Phone: +372 631 6456, +372 5331 0789
E-mail: [email protected]
Questions: [email protected]