Skip navigation


On Wednesday, 16 July, at 10.30 a.m., a public hearing of the European Union Affairs Committee on the issue of the association agreements concluded by Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine with the European Union will be held in the Riigikogu Conference Hall. The ambassadors of the three countries have been invited to the Committee sitting. They will give an overview of the situation in their countries in the light of the conclusion of the association agreements.

“At the sitting, the Committee members will get an immediate overview of the situation in these countries from the ambassadors, and they will have an opportunity to pose questions of clarification to the ambassadors which cannot be done in the Riigikogu chamber,” the Chairman of the European Union Affairs Committee Kalle Palling said. He added that the integration of Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine with Europe is very important.

At the European Council in June, the association and free trade agreements with Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine were signed, and now the parliaments of the Member States will have to ratify these agreements.

Although, according to Estonian legislation, the agreements concluded with Moldova, Georgia and Ukraine do not have to be ratified by the Riigikogu, the Government had nevertheless decided to submit them to the parliament for approval in order to stress the importance of this issue and to engage the wider public.

It will be possible to pose questions to the ambassadors at the public sitting. All interested persons are welcome. Please register at euro.ametnik@riigikogu.ee no later than Wednesday, 16 July, at 9.00 a.m. The language of the meeting will be English, and translation service will be available.

The sitting can also be followed on the web at: https://www.riigikogu.ee/index.php?id=173840

The Riigikogu Press Service