Skip navigation


At its sitting today, the European Union Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) elected its Chairman and Deputy Chairman. Raimond Kaljulaid was elected the Deputy Chairman and Siim Kallas will continue as the Chairman of the Committee.

The extraordinary election was held due to the resignation of Riina Sikkut from the position of the Deputy Chair.

Other members of the European Union Affairs Committee are Enn Eesmaa, Kalle Grünthal, Ruuben Kaalep, Siret Kotka, Tarmo Kruusimäe, Oudekki Loone, Lauri Läänemets, Anti Poolamets, Martin Repinski, Riina Sikkut, Timo Suslov, Margit Sutrop, Aivar Sõerd, Raivo Tamm and Urve Tiidus.

The European Union Affairs Committee is a standing committee of the Riigikogu that has a deciding and coordinating role in the issues relating to the European Union in the Riigikogu. The Committee gives the mandate to the positions of the Government of the Republic on proposed European Union legislation and to Estonia’s positions for the meetings of the Council of Ministers of the European Union and the European Council. The positions of the European Union Affairs Committee are binding for the Government, and the Government proceeds from these in the discussions held in Europe.

Photos of the sitting (Erik Peinar, Chancellery of the Riigikogu)

Riigikogu Press Service
Merilin Kruuse
Phone: +372 631 6592, +372 510 6179
E-mail: [email protected]
Questions: [email protected]