Skip navigation


Estonia-Switzerland Parliamentary Group was formed in the Riigikogu today. Tõnis Kõiv was elected the Chairman of the group. Other members of the group are Rait Maruste and Sven Sester.

“For many people, Switzerland is a country that can be regarded as an example due to its welfare and the organisation of its society,” Kõiv said. “Parliamentary cooperation helps to gain deeper knowledge of the society where people who are responsible and care about others live.”

Parliamentary groups are established in order to intensify bilateral communication with the parliaments of other countries. The activity of parliamentary groups is aimed at achieving the foreign policy objectives of the Republic of Estonia and introducing Estonia abroad. There are 57 parliamentary groups at the Riigikogu.