Skip navigation


The Chairmen of the European Union Affairs Committees of Baltic and Polish parliaments will meet in Ida-Virumaa on 24 and 25 October. The main issues include energy security and relations between the EU and Russia.

“Instead of meeting in Toompea Castle, we will discuss energy security issues with our Baltic and Polish colleagues in Narva power station, explain the importance of shale oil in Enefit280 oil factory, and give a presentation on the rare Estonian resource in Narva oil shale mine,” said the Chairman of the Committee Kalle Palling, adding that it was more convenient to explain the specifics of oil shale industry and to talk about the importance of energy security cooperation on site.

“We need to convince our colleagues in the Baltic states and Poland that oil shale industry is crucial for Estonia. We also need to explain the need to cooperate in desynchronising the Baltic states from the Russian power grid. It is important to continue developing a common gas market together with Finland, Poland and the Baltic states,” Palling added.

The participants will explain their views on developing power lines in the Baltic states and on synchronising power systems with Central Europe, as well as on fully developing the common gas market of Finland, Poland and the Baltic states. The competitiveness and attractiveness to investors of the Estonian oil shale industry will also be discussed in light of the decision by the European Council.

Meetings at the Estlink 2 (power link between Estonia and Finland) substation at Püssi and in Narva College are planned for 24 October. Meetings at the Eesti Energia Narva power plants, Enefit280 oil plant and Narva opencast mine of Eesti Energia Kaevandused are scheduled for 25 October.

The meeting will be chaired by the Chairman of the Riigikogu European Union Affairs Committee and member of the Board of Eesti Energia Kalle Palling. Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Latvian Saeima Zanda Kalnina-Lukaševica, Vice-Chairman of the European Affairs Committee of the Lithuanian Seimas Linas Balsys, and Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the EU Affairs Committee of the Polish Senate Edmund Wittbrodt and Andrzej Galazewski will take part in the meeting.

The Riigikogu Press Service