Skip navigation


The delegation of the Estonia-Cyprus Parliamentary Group was on a working visit in Cyprus, where they met with the colleagues from the Parliament of Cyprus.

Chairman of the Estonia-Cyprus Parliamentary Group Kalle Palling said that the main issue spoken about at the meetings was the reunification of the island. “Finding a solution to the conflict that has lasted for 43 years already would be a success story for both Cyprus and the European Union,” Palling said.

“We do not want to have walls that divide countries in half in the 21st century Europe,” Vice-President of the Riigikogu Taavi Rõivas added. “Reunification of Cyprus is important not only to the country itself, but also to the whole EU. During its Presidency of the EU Council, Estonia has to do its best to solve the problem of Cyprus.”

The aim of the visit of the Parliamentary Group was to develop closer bilateral relations between the members of parliaments. “At the time of changes in the EU, the parliamentary dialogue between the Member States that share the same principles and values is very important,” Palling said.

“It is important that the small countries of Europe amplified each other’s voices, so that the interests of our citizens either would not remain in the background in international relations,” member of the delegation Oudekki Loone said. In her opinion, the “green line” patrolled by the UN and surrounded by ghost towns in the middle of a small island in the European Union clearly shows how the problem of Cyprus actually means the possibility of ordinary people to live their lives peacefully and to build up common living space with their neighbours.

During the visit, the members of the Parliamentary Group met with the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Cyprus, Chairman of the Committee on Foreign and European Affairs, and members of the Committee on Financial and Budgetary Affairs of the Parliament. They also had meetings with the mayors of Nicosia and Famagusta.

The delegation consisted of members of the Estonia-Cyprus Parliamentary Group Kalle Palling, Taavi Rõivas, Meelis Mälberg, Oudekki Loone and Toomas Kivimägi.

Riigikogu Press Service
Epp-Mare Kukemelk
+372 631 6356, +372 51 53 903
[email protected] 
Questions: [email protected]