Skip navigation


Today and tomorrow, Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) Marko Mihkelson participates in the joint visit of the representatives of the European Parliament and the parliaments of 14 countries to Ukraine.

According to Mihkelson, the aim of the visit of the international delegation, which takes place on the eve of and on the Independence Day of Ukraine, is to express firm support to Ukraine. The discussions at the meetings with the members of the Parliament and Government of Ukraine will focus on the security situation and the provision of the necessary aid to Ukraine that would help Ukraine achieve a strategic victory in the war of aggression waged by Russia. Holding Russia to account and compensation for the damages caused by the aggression will also be spoken about.

In Kyiv, the 25-member delegation of parliamentarians will meet with Chairman of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine Ruslan Stefanchuk and Chairs of the Committees of the Verkhovna Rada. They will also visit the solemn plenary sitting of the Verkhovna Rada. They have also planned to have meetings with Deputy Prime Minister for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration Olha Stefanishyna, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Yevhen Perebyinis, Deputy Minister of Defence Andriy Shevchenko and Deputy Minister of Internal Affairs Oleksiy Sergeev.

During the visit, the delegation will also attend the Third Summit of the Crimea Platform, which is held in Kyiv. Tomorrow, when Ukraine celebrates its Independence Day, the parliamentarians will visit Hostomel International Airport and the city of Irpin near Kyiv.

Representatives of the parliaments of Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Iceland, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Spain and Sweden as well as the European Parliament, who belong to the international parliamentary network United4Ukraine, which was formed to support Ukraine, participate in the visit.

Riigikogu Press Service
Karin Kangro
+372 631 6356, +372 520 0323
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]