Skip navigation


Today, the Chairs of the Foreign Affairs Committees of the parliaments of the Nordic Countries and the Baltic States begin their joint visit to the United States to highlight the importance of continued support to Ukraine and shaping a victory strategy for Ukraine, as well as to discuss defence cooperation and strengthening security on the NATO Eastern flank.

On Monday, the Chairs of Foreign Affairs Committees will meet with Secretary-General of the United Nations António Guterres, President of the UN General Assembly Dennis Francis and Permanent Representative of Ukraine to the UN Sergiy Kyslytsya in New York. They will also visit the Columbia University, where they will participate in a panel discussion addressing Russia’s war of aggression in Ukraine, the security situation in the Nordic Countries and the Baltic States, the accession of Finland and Sweden to NATO as well as the situation in the Middle East. The discussion will start at 7 p.m. (EET) on Monday and last for 1.5 hours. It will be live streamed online.

From New York, the Chairs of Foreign Affairs Committees will travel to Washington, where they will spend three days, and meet with senators and members of the House of Representatives, as well as representatives of think tanks and journalists. They are also planning to have meetings at the State Department and the American Jewish Committee.

The impacts of the war of aggression started by Russia against Ukraine will be discussed at all meetings, and the importance of continued assistance to Ukraine will be underlined, as the outcome of the war will influence the entire values-based world order. Defence spending and defence cooperation between countries, and the strengthening of deterrence and defence on the NATO Eastern flank will also be spoken about at the meetings.

Marko Mihkelson from the Parliament of Estonia, Rihards Kols from the Parliament of Latvia, Žygimantas Pavilionis from the Parliament of Lithuania, Michael Aastrup Jensen from the Parliament of Denmark, Diljá Mist Einarsdóttir from the Parliament of Iceland, Ine Eriksen Søreide from the Parliament of Norway, and Aron Emilsson from the Parliament of Sweden participate in the joint visit.

Riigikogu Press Service
Karin Kangro
+372 631 6356, +372 520 0323
[email protected]
Questions: [email protected]