Skip navigation


Foresight Centre is an independent unit formed under the Chancellery of the Riigikogu on the basis of the Foresight Act for the identification and analysis of long-term (covering a time horizon of more than ten years) developments in the Estonian society, and preparation of development scenarios on their bases. Its task is the distinction of opportunities and risks for the Estonian society, monitoring the realization of development scenarios and, where necessary, the adjustment of development scenarios.

The task of the Foresight Centre is the identification and analysis of developments in the society, and preparation of development scenarios.

These future visions have to cover as many sectors as possible, and take into account various aspects of the development of society both in Estonia and on the global scale.

The Foresight Centre is independent in the performance of its duties. It has a separate budget, and the right to make decisions regarding the planning and realisation of its activities.

In order to ensure the independence of foresight, the Foresight Council has been formed at the Foresight Centre. The Council has five members, who are recognised experts in the field of research, business and technology. The Foresight Council:

  • approves the action plan of foresight;
  • makes proposals for the selection of principal trends and topics of foresight;
  • evaluates the implementation of the action plan and the targeted use of budgetary funds;
  • provides an assessment of the completed monitoring and analyses;
  • gives approval to employment in and release from service of the head of centre;
  • performs other functions assigned to it by legislation.

Members of the Foresight Council

  • Priit Rohumaa – Chairman
  • Jaak Aaviksoo
  • Tarmo Soomere
  • Priit Perens
  • Mait Palts

The first sitting of the Foresight Council was held on 19 September 2016. It was convened by Chairman of the Economic Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu Toomas Kivimägi. Kersti Kaljulaid was elected the Chairperson of the Foresight Council, and it was decided to use the help of human resources company Manpower to find the head for the Foresight Centre. When Kersti Kaljulaid became the President of the Republic, Priit Rohumaa was appointed a member of the Foresight Council. On 7 November 2016, Priit Rohumaa was elected the Chairman of the Council. Tea Danilov became the Head of the Foresight Centre.


Tea Danilov
Telefon: 631 6922   
E-post: tea.danilov@riigikogu.ee
Meelis Kitsing
Research Manager
Telefon: 631 6921
E-post: meelis.kitsing@riigikogu.ee
Kadri Mats
Project Manager
Telefon: 631 6923
E-post: kadri.mats@riigikogu.ee
Mari Rell
Telefon: 631 6925
E-post: mari.rell@riigikogu.ee



Last updated: 02.05.2017